The CDC Says 3 in 5 Teen Girls in the U.S. Report Feeling Persistently Hopeless

Find Out What Role Social Media Plays in This Concerning Trend

The Socioholic
9 min readMay 31, 2024

A Need to Seek Answers

To put it plainly, being a teenage girl sucks. I can recall many moments throughout my teen years being caught up in the throws of hormone-induced angst, fighting with my parents over my curfew, or being lovesick over some boy, just waiting for the day that I would no longer be held back by parental rules or barred from age-restricted social scenes.

But it seems like teen girls today are far more likely to develop issues with their mental health, self-worth, and body image. The headline you read a moment ago was shocking to me. My eyes zeroed in on the statistic with confusion. Such a profoundly awe-striking provocation overcame me so much that I could not keep scrolling.

This single sentence was unsettling enough that I almost felt it was my duty as a woman who once stood in the shoes of these young girls to investigate further.

And so, I did my best to eek backward to the days when I, too, was a sixteen-year-old girl to see if I could understand the mindset of a modern teenager and gain some insight into what these poor, hopeless girls were crying out for.

--

--

The Socioholic

Nicole is lifelong student with a love for the written word. She authors content with substance & value on topics from self-reflection to social activism.